And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer

My friend told me if I was going to read this, to get a box of tissues ready.  When I told my husband what I was reading, he said; “you know you are going to cry right?”  I didn’t listen and now I am a puddle on the floor.

This puddle may grow into a lake today since we are saying goodbye to my husbands father.  Reading a story about saying goodbye although sad, I think gives a bit of perspective to what memories are about, how they never ever go away since the universe is never-ending.

“Noahnoah, promise me something, one very last thing: once your good-bye is perfect, you have to leave me and not look back.  Live your life.”

These are words spoken to Noah, the lovely little grandson of the grandpa slowly going away in the book called: And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer. How special and true are these words?  Watching my husband and my kids lose their Grandpa and seeing the grief and confusion as to how life goes on after a death is devastating. I wonder if telling them that it is ok to find their perfect good-bye is healing and necessary in order to go on living even when the ones you love don’t get to.

I hope they find a memory, one that is simple and vivid and in that memory they can find their good-bye.  Whether it be that time they drank cokes together on the back porch that was too hot to walk on with bare feet so they sat on the swing till the sun sank behind the mountains.  I will remember my good-bye the first time that I knew he loved me like a daughter when he said; “good-bye sweetheart” when we left his house one night.  I hope my husband finds his good-bye when he goes to a car show or a four-wheeling trip, or simply fabricating a piece of metal because his Dad taught him how to do that.

“Those who hasten to live, are in a hurry to miss.”

This book make me cry, however I am so glad I read it today.  It took me about 45 minutes to read this lovely little novella.  Grab the tissues and let these words touch your heart, you will be glad you did.

Buy it here: And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer

 

2 thoughts on “And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer

Leave a Reply

