I do confess…

imageThe first book that I read from this author was Slammed and I loved every part of that book.  The slam poetry was so on point and I will never forget the night that Will wrote the poem for Layken.  Oh my god that sent chills through every part of me.

“So you keep your ocean, I’ll take the Lake.”

If you haven’t read Slammeddownload it, order it, borrow it.  It is well worth the time.

Since then, I have yet to be disappointed when it comes to her stories.  They are raw and deep and full of heart.  And even though I loved Slammed,  I confess that Confess is my new favorite New Adult so far this year.

Auburn has a secret to be sure.  Right away, you are left wondering what makes her cry everyday when she walks home from work in her new home in Dallas.  She is alone and sad and is in great need of money for a lawyer.  But, we don’t know why she needs a lawyer.  We know that when she was fifteen (now twenty), she lost her first love to cancer.  That event sets the tone for the rest of her life in so many, many ways.

 “I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.” My tears fall harder at his words.“And I’ll love you forever. Even when I shouldn’t.” 

Owen, beautiful eccentric Owen.  A young painter that is in desperate need of an employee for two hours for an art show.  Auburn, in desperate need of money.  Her showing up on his gallery doorstep (called Confess) seems fated and even more so when he realizes who she is.  There is a little bit of insta-love going on here, which is not always my favorite.  But some authors can do it right, and some do not.  She does it right with this one.  Just the right amount of sexual chemistry and love at first sight.  But she puts off the love confessions and sex long enough that it does not feel ridiculous.  By the time they have their hot moment in his apartment/gallery, it is well worth waiting for.  And, it may be the only time that they have together so they make it count…like really count…

“I don’t want you to remember what it feels like when I am inside you, I want you to remember how it feels when I look at you.”

You know those times when you read a line from a book and you have to close it for just a sec and really take it in?  Mmmmm hmmmm, this was one of those times.  I mean, those words, really?  I think I may have squealed a little bit after I read them over and over.

So the raw and deep stuff is plentiful of course, this is a New Adult novel.  It makes for quite an angsty read.  I like when your heart feels the deep, I like when a novel takes you there and helps us remember that life is not always rainbows and roses.  And, I like when it is not too much angst that by the end you  are unsure whether you would read it again because it left you battered and bruised.  This will leave you branded, but in a different way.  One that will surely bring you back for more of her stories.  I know it did for me, I am reading, It Ends With Us by her.  Yep, it might be another favorite too and I will be raving about it in no time.

Alisha

By it now: Confess by Colleen Hoover

 

 

Leave a Reply

